Scottish Breakfast

P1010409 Hello, today’s tea is Scottish Breakfast, and it is a black tea blend from Peet’s Coffee & Tea. It has India teas with Lapsang Souchong. The Lapsang Souchong makes it smoky, and I smell it as soon as I stick my nose in the tin. Looking at the tea there are a few golden tips in there, so perhaps Assam is making an appearance as well. It brews a hearty, reddish-brown cup that smells smoky, but not overwhelmingly so–it smells rich. The flavor is also hearty and full-bodied, and is another tea made for milk, but it tastes good without it as well. I’m always surprised when that happens. It is a rich blend of flavors that go well together. Peet’s tea blends are nearly always top-notch. This is a tea that I have occasionally because I’m not a huge fan of Lapsang Souchong–although I like it–I have to be in the mood for it.  I agree with with what Peet’s says on its website about this tea: “It’s a good tea for cold weather, with its full body, pungent taste, and woodsmoke aroma.” You can get it here: http://www.peets.com/shop/tea_detail.asp?id=80&cid=1000154

Edit: This tea is no longer a regular offering at Peet’s. They blend it twice a year and then sell it in one-pound bags. It’s worth stocking up when it’s offered if this tea is a favorite.

About theteaprincess

I have nearly an entire kitchen cabinet full of tea, and I just keep acquiring more! I started this blog to go through them one by one, to be reminded why I bought them all in the first place, to learn, and to rekindle my love for tea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scottish Breakfast

  1. Have you run across a tea called Snow Monkey Plum? I think that’s the name…It’s delicious and smoky and it sounds like this Scottish breakfast tea. I’m pretty sure I had it at Peet’s.

  2. I haven’t, but it sounds interesting, and I love the name! I’ll look around for it. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a comment